Line Line Line Line Line

The First America’s Cup
of World Class Soaring
Uvalde, TX. August 13-22, 2002

Ready to go under Uvalde sky

The America’s Cup of World Class Soaring is a perpetual trophy that will be won, and held until the next event, by the country achieving the highest cumulative score in an America’s Cup competition.

The America’s Cup will be held at least every two years, in conjunction with the World Class National Championship (WCNC) of the country that last won the Cup, or back in the USA if the country that last won the Cup does not hold a regular WCNC.

Because many countries do not hold regular World Class contests, the America’s Cup is intended to provide World Class pilots from all over the World with a World Class contest opportunity. Open to all qualifying pilots (not just pilots from National Teams), and possibly "travelling" from country to country, the America’s Cup intent is to foster international interaction and friendship among pilots from all over the World.

The America’s Cup of World Class Soaring

The scoring rules of the America’s Cup are simple: The tasks and scoring equations are those of the WCNC of the hosting country. On each America’s Cup competition day, the day score of a country will be the highest score achieved on that day by any pilot from that country. The country with the highest cumulative score at the end of the contest wins and holds the Cup until the next America’s Cup competition.

Keith Willis (on the left) from Australia, joins Nancy Snead, Kris Yeates, Dottie and François Pin, and Bill Snead, for a refreshing dinner in the shade after floating down the Rio Frio River.


The first America’s Cup of World Class Soaring was held in the USA, in conjunction with the 2002 US World Class National Championship held in Uvalde, TX from August 13 to 22, 2002. 15 gliders participated, the largest number in any World Class contest in the USA. 4 countries were represented: Australia, Canada, Poland, and the USA. 9 contest days out of 9 were flown. Tasks and weather conditions varied greatly, from “low and slow” days during the first week to fast racing days with speeds in the mid 50s mph (around 90 km/h) during the second week, testing all the “survival” skills of the pilots. Detailed day-by-day reports and scores can be found on the SSA web site at:

When all got counted, the USA won this first edition of the America’s Cup of World Class Soaring and will hold it until next year when it will be contested again during the 2003 US World Class National Championships in Harris Hills, NY (planned dates: June 17 to 26, 2003). And although the details of the flying and scores will probably soon fade away from memories, the friendships created during diners together, parties, or while floating along on the Rio Frio River during the rest day, will long be remembered. And that is what the America’s Cup is all about… See you next year in Harris Hills….

A long line of PW-5s ready to launch under a typical Texas sky
World Class Logo design by: Claudio Blois Duarte
Also, questions or comments about these pages can be e-mailed to: Webmaster
Copyright © 1996-2002 WRENMM, All rights reserved.